top of page
  • Rhoda Ola-Said

My Head Wrap and I


My head wrap and I. A satin saviour in the dark night from the lying comforts of inviting pillows which like to scratch and pull at the untamed halo of tight coils or knee length braids on my head. A trusted ally which can hide the unruliest of days where my laziness overcomes me, the secret of what really is going on is between it and myself. A much appreciated tool to bound curly locks into an assailing tower, full and falling stylishly to the front in the foreground of bold prints, shapes and colours. An accessory deserving of more praise than any necklace or ring as it does much more than simply cover my head. It is it's own statement, it's own product, its own meaning. A symbol of great heritage, suffering, strength, modesty, power, care, motherhood, sisterhood, womanhood......should I go on?

Head wraps are a universal accessory but I believe in the hands of a black woman it is something more. As a Nigerian the Gele is part of the head wrap family, part of the traditional garment for weddings birthdays etc. and the ability to tie one is what I consider an art form, since it shares some of the characteristics of origami but on top of somebodies head. Each fold, twist and tightening creates a new unique style. Only a few days ago my mother was enhancing her own skills, from watching YouTube tutorials,tempting me to join in on the lesson because in her own words, ''it is a valuable skill I can learn.'' But previous images and experiences flitted in my head of uncomfortable tightness, struggling aunties and an inconceivable amount of safety pins. Although it may have seemed as though I was not an enthusiastic fan of wearing them as I turned her offer down, I do confess to having a great admiration as I gaze at the brides and party goers who wear them in different fanned out styles.

Of course the Gele is just one of the many assortments of head wraps that take my eye and enhance my love of the twist of fabric which nappy hair seeps from. Some of these assortments are known by name but for many there is no need for names, as its style and fashion comes from the individuals creative capacity, making use of; buns, braiding, the manipulation of hair and also the individuals choice of wearing it in the first place , whether it be because of religion, medical reasons or simply because you can rock it with some big gold hoops .

So here is the ode to the head wrap, DON'T take it for granted.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

DASHIKI AND MOM JEANS, A WEBSITE WHERE WE CELEBRATE  IDENTITY THROUGH DIVERSITY, CREATIVITY AND STORIES OF BLACK WOMEN

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

Images not owned by Dashiki and Mom Jeans unless stated. Please message for credit or removal .

bottom of page