top of page
  • Veronique Belinga

Who can claim Mother Africa?


Photo cred: @orinayo_ojo_photos

Africa, a return to (a far-away) origins for some or a continent presented as a land plagued by many issues such as war and disease for others? I do not wish to dwell on the second assumption all because it dismisses why a diverse set of individuals perceive Africa as the mother of all lands but also fails to explain my claim to the vast continent. My experience may speak to many; Cameroon is my country of origin yet I have mostly been raised abroad. Today, my journey towards self-discovery seemingly points back to Africa. This is when the picture becomes more complex as many could find ways to claim Africa's various facets to construct what they believe is their identity. The popularisation and quite frankly, the mystification of Africa allows people already distant from the motherland, to take what isn't solely theirs and sometimes, appropriate it fully. However, I believe, that like me, we can have legitimate claims to Africa. For instance, popular music artists like Young Paris, amongst others, have looked back at their African origins. Young Paris, especially has transported Afro beats and thrills elsewhere to share his love for Africa with anyone that is able to appreciate some culturally-driven music. He combines different ambiances, going from African to hip hop culture to create something that reflects his own authentic experience and identity, merging both the "traditional" African and the "contemporary" western. Although I applaud his work and his quest for self-love and self-identity, I question the value he gives to his origins. Him casting his African side as solely "traditional", I sense, is undermining that side of him that could be modern. Whilst his claim to Africa is genuine, it is one-folded.

I, having lived abroad for so long find it a difficult task too. Mother Africa can seem so close and distant at once. Having lived in France confirms that feeling because it is a place that continues to claim some cultural attachment to the continent, yet tends to highlight its difference. In that process, some ideas “made in France” in my experiences pervade on Africa and the African as a whole. Although some ties are undeniable, I had never felt I had full control over my sense of self and my black identity. For a lot of individuals, my racial appearance was for them, a validation of where I came from, Africa and not France or the West. However, my character did not validate the many stereotypes that derive from Africa, so they decided I understood and thus shared the same culture as them. I do not feel I pertain to any of those conceptions. Like many others in my case, I am a product of many worlds, not one. I feel and desire to claim Africa for what it really is by staying true to its realities and its contemporary aspects.

The key is looking from within to better understand what is told and depicted from outside; I appreciate Young Paris a lot more in that way. That means, no longer taking your origins for granted but seeing contemporary Africa with its people, its cultures, its joy and its grievances and most importantly, its voices. As a black woman living and studying in London and going back to my home country so often, my identity is forever changing as my worlds evolve as such.

109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

DASHIKI AND MOM JEANS, A WEBSITE WHERE WE CELEBRATE  IDENTITY THROUGH DIVERSITY, CREATIVITY AND STORIES OF BLACK WOMEN

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

Images not owned by Dashiki and Mom Jeans unless stated. Please message for credit or removal .

bottom of page